Second Ride with the clipless pedals

This past weekend was dry and not too cold (8C). I decided to ride my usual training ride of 16km round trip to UBC and back to my apartment.

After the previous weekend’s experience with the clipless pedals, I decided to pedal the first few km with at least one foot unclipped. I was surprised that I could pedal at about 16km/h on the flat with both feet unclipped. I navigated through  many intersections with confidence that I would not fall, and would be able to start moving from a stop pedalling unclipped.

I had my Garmin 500 with me, and was comparing myself against my previous benchmark that I had set with my hybrid bike last fall. Even though the R3 is about 8 pounds lighter, I was actually going slower (out of shape, cold temps). However, when I got to the hill to go to UBC, I clipped in both pedals and went up the hill with a lot less effort than I remember doing last fall. this was definitely going to be easier over the long haul. I ended up doing the 16km out and back a few minutes slower than my previous benchmark, but was gaining more confidence in the clipless pedals and my ability to change gears, and get my feet unclipped when necessary

About petergsimmons

Global citizenship is conferred on those who have lived in a variety of countries, and who don’t identify with any one culture. I am such a person. Having lived in Jamaica, Canada and Japan, I have been exposed to First World/Third World, East and West, North and South. This has lead to a rich living experience, open-mindedness and curiosity about the world around me. This variety of living conditions in human landscapes is coupled with equally diverse travels in natural landscapes from the jungles of South East Asia and South America to the Arctic tundra; tropical beaches to the Himalayas, resulting in an incredible journey through life itself.
This entry was posted in Bicycles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Second Ride with the clipless pedals

  1. Forrest says:

    Your R3 is an amazingly light (and wonderful all around) bike, but its feather weight won’t help you go faster on flat ground. It’s because you’re only fighting inertia (and air resistance and other minor things) but not gravity. Once you start going up hill, though, things begin to change drastically.

    • I thought after spending all that money that I was guaranteed to go faster on all ground 🙂

      • Forrest says:

        Your post caught my interest because I ride a Cervelo R3. 🙂

        Mine is actually slower than my other on flat ground, or going down hill in a straight line like roller derby. But the R3 is as stable as a tank and as graceful as a gazelle; I feel safer going down hill at higher speeds, and if it’s not a straight line, the R3 is hands down the better bike. Plus it climbs like a mountain goat, as you’re realizing.

  2. BikeWar says:

    You’ll quickly get used to them. And your first (and unfortunately inevitable) fall will be in front of people. At the post ride coffeeshop. Or at the intersection. So don’t forget to unclip…the side that your putting your foot down! 😀

    • You are right. I was practicing last weekend in an empty parking lot, and when I took the inevitable first fall, this guy appeared out of nowhere to ask me if I was all right. Aside from a bruised ego, I was fine, and haven’t fallen since – but I am careful to make sure I am unclipped as soon as my speed gets slow or I am approaching stops, traffic lights or other potential obstructions.

Leave a Reply

