Training for the GranFondo Official Week 1

I signed up for My First FoGrouse Picndo training clinic organized by Cycling BC. The first session started on Wednesday and was probably the wettest evening I had been out in quite a while. I decided to ride my hybrid bike, as I hadn’t ridden the Cervelo in rain, and didn’t know if we would any real riding that day.

After signing waivers and getting an overview of the next 14 weeks, we introduced ourselves and mentioned our experience level etc. We were then organized into groups according to ability. Not sure how this happened, but I got put in the “Fast” group. Nearly everyone lese had braved the rain and ridden their road bike. I had the slowest bike, and was in the “fastest” group. We went for a short ride up Ontario street (The clinic is held at Creekside Community Centre near Olympic village at the foot of Ontario street). I mentioned that I had a R3 and that my riding style and fit etc shouldn’t be judged on what they were seeing that day, as the hybrid was definitely not optimized at that time.

Most people are like myself with limited road bike riding experience, but are keen to tackle this challenging ride in September.

Thursday morning I skipped the Spin Class as I had to be at work a bit earlier than normal, and did the UBC hill ride, taking two minutes off my best time so far.

Saturday, I did the Marine Drive UBC course, riding up the hill behind Spanish banks, just as it started to rain. Ended up doing the rest of the remaining 20km in the rain. Note to self – buy booties for the bike shoes. There, I had now ridden in the rain with the R3.

Then this morning, I revisited last week’s attempt at the base of Grouse Mtn, and made it! The last 500m was according to my GPS about a 15% climb. I was able to sit on the seat and pedal up the hill at about 6km/h using the lowest gear. The gentleman who took the picture for me mentioned that the tires looked soft. I told him I had pumped them up the day before and that they were at the proper pressure.

Two days later.

I checked the pressure again  and it seems I made the newbie mistake – forgot to undo the presta valve lock mechanism. I have been riding the past few weeks with under inflated tires. I have now figured this out, and pumped up the tires. Guess I was lucky no serious damage occurred to me or the bike on the past few rides.

About petergsimmons

Global citizenship is conferred on those who have lived in a variety of countries, and who don’t identify with any one culture. I am such a person. Having lived in Jamaica, Canada and Japan, I have been exposed to First World/Third World, East and West, North and South. This has lead to a rich living experience, open-mindedness and curiosity about the world around me. This variety of living conditions in human landscapes is coupled with equally diverse travels in natural landscapes from the jungles of South East Asia and South America to the Arctic tundra; tropical beaches to the Himalayas, resulting in an incredible journey through life itself.
This entry was posted in 2013 Whistler Granfondo Training, Bicycles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

