Training for the Granfondo Week 7

This is halfway through the training for the Big Ride.

I repeated my UBC circuit ride but focused on keeping in Zone 1. This slowed down my overall time by 5 minutes.

The Wednesday clinic coincided with the Tour de GasTown. A bunch of us decided to do that instead of the clinic.

Thursday I went to the gym to try the zone 3 workout using the Keiser spin bikes. The plan was to stick between 205 and 215 w for 30 minutes. I didn’t’ have my heart rate monitor on, but it seemed that I was nowhere near the 165 bpm that zone 3 was supposed to correspond to. Later that day I had an intense pain at the top of my left side ( I believe the top of the IT band). Perhaps I didn’t stretch out the leg properly, or the seat height was incorrect, but I still had the pain on Friday morning. Walking seemed to alleviate the pain.

Saturday, the leg was much better. I joined a colleague from work on the BCMC trail, and kept my heart rate in the Zone 3 area for most of the climb. I did the climb a few minutes slower than the previous week.

The saddle sore that I had developed a few weeks ago subsided, and I decided today to give my stock saddle a nother go. I have been tempted to replace it, but things seemed to be better once the position was readjusted. I joined Raj, from the clinic, and we set out to repeat the circuit I had done last Sunday. The Stanley Park loops were fine, and much better than the previous week as we were down there 30 minutes earlier. However, there was the Subaru triathlon at UBC, which messed up our plans to do the Marine drive circuit and Spanish Banks. This forced us into areas just north of Chancellor Blvd, including the hill up Belmont, which was 15% grade for about 200m. This was the steepest hill I had done, since Grouse Mountain. We ended up going back through University Blvd, and then getting onto Marine Drive near the Botanical Garden. Instead of reversing course, we headed to the southern end of Marine drive and then up the Cypress bike path. The overall ride took over 4 hours, but we had a lot of stops along the way, and only managed 60km in 3 hours of moving time. Seems that the best way to get miles on is to loop Stanley Park multiple times, as there is barely any traffic on a Sunday morning, no traffic lights, and it is in shade, and therefore, quite cool, with a bathroom break at Prospect Point if necessary.

I headed to the bike shop to discuss the saddle replacement. They advised me to put another 400 km on before making a decision. I don’t have any numbness or long-term soreness, just some discomfort and overheating on the perineum area. I have Gore bib and use the chamois cream, which has definitely helped. They told me that my body needs time to adjust to the saddle. Therefore, I will soldier on with this saddle for a few more weeks and then decide what to do after that time has passed.

http://app.strava.com/activities/67128296

About petergsimmons

Global citizenship is conferred on those who have lived in a variety of countries, and who don’t identify with any one culture. I am such a person. Having lived in Jamaica, Canada and Japan, I have been exposed to First World/Third World, East and West, North and South. This has lead to a rich living experience, open-mindedness and curiosity about the world around me. This variety of living conditions in human landscapes is coupled with equally diverse travels in natural landscapes from the jungles of South East Asia and South America to the Arctic tundra; tropical beaches to the Himalayas, resulting in an incredible journey through life itself.
This entry was posted in 2013 Whistler Granfondo Training, Bicycles, British Columbia, Canada, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

